BEC Awards 2021

The TOPTICA Senior and Junior BEC Awards 2021 honor outstanding research in Experimental and/or Theoretical Physics of Quantum Degenerate Atomic Gases. The senior prize recognizes a specific work that is firmly established and has significantly advanced the field of quantum degenerate gases. The junior prize recognizes outstanding work by a young scientist for independent research early in his or her academic career. The newly established TOPTICA BEC Award for Lifetime Achievements 2021 recognizes longstanding important contributions to the field. Each prize consists of a 2500 Euro cash award, and a certificate citing the contributions of the recipients. The prizes are awarded under the auspices of the biannual BEC conference and are sponsored by TOPTICA Photonics AG.

Awards 2021

TOPICA BEC Junior Award 2021
Martin Zwierlein
For his pioneering contributions to the field of ultracold quantum gases, specifically Fermi and Bose polarons, rotating condensates, spin and charge transport and the unitary Fermi gas.

TOPTICA BEC Senior Award 2021
Tilman Esslinger
For his pioneering work on ultracold quantum gases in optical lattices, topological systems, quantum gases in cavities and quantum transport.

Rudolf Grimm
For his pioneering work on Feshbach resonances, BEC-BCS crossover physics as well as few-body phenomena such as Efimov states.

TOPTICA BEC Lifetime Award
Tin-Lun (Jason) Ho
For his longstanding broad contributions to our understanding of ultracold quantum gases.

BEC2021 award announcement

Price announcement

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations may be made by any member of the international scientific community. Senior, junior, and lifetime prizes shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. While there is no strict division between the senior and junior categories, junior scientists should have received their last academic degree less than about 15 years ago. In general, recipients of the Nobel Prize and previous BEC Awards are not eligible for the TOPTICA BEC Awards 2021, unless the accomplishments cited in the nomination represent new or different work.

Nomination & Selection Process

Nominations should be sent by email to no later than June 30, 2021. The nomination must include, as a single pdf attachment, a letter by the nominator(s) describing the accomplishments to be recognized and a citation. A CV and a list of relevant publications may be included, but are not required. Self-nominations are not accepted, and nominees should not be involved in or informed of the nomination process. Nor should the members of the selection committee be nominated.

2021 Committee Members: Immanuel Bloch, Chair of BEC Awards 21, Francesca Ferlaino, Wolfgang Ketterle, Lev Pitaevskii, Sandro Stringari, Päivi Törmä. The Scientific Committee of the BEC conference elected the committee members.

Past recipients:

BEC Senior Award 2019: Lev Pitaevskii and Sandro Stringari
BEC Junior Award 2019: Francesca Ferlaino
BEC 2019 award announcement

BEC Senior Award 2017: Jean Dalibard
BEC Junior Award 2017: Cheng Chin
BEC 2017 award announcement

BEC Senior Award 2015: Tom Greytak, Harald Hess, Daniel Kleppner
BEC Junior Award 2015: Shina Tan
BEC 2015 award announcement

BEC Senior Award 2013: Immanuel Bloch
BEC Junior Award 2013: Markus Greiner
BEC 2013 award announcement

BEC Senior Award 2011: Gora Shlyapnikov
BEC Junior Award 2011: Ian Spielman
BEC 2011 award announcement